Logo - Forest Preserve District of Will County Bringing People and Nature Together skip to main content
     
 
News and Events
 
  Forest Preserve District Seeks Workday Volunteers
  Posted: 8/19/2016
 
Share This:  
 
Preserve Moment

Help improve the forest preserves by gathering valuable seeds or removing invasive species during a Forest Preserve District of Will County volunteer workday.

Seed Collection Workdays
RSVP to natural resource land manger Juanita Armstrong-Ullberg at 815.722.5918 or jarmstrong@fpdwc.org. Seed collection workdays will be held from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on:
Tuesday, Sept. 27: Riverview Farmstead and Kropp Prairie. Meet at Kropp Prairie on Book Road, north of 119th Street, Naperville.
Tuesday, Oct. 4: Sugar Creek Preserve, Sugar Creek Administration Center parking lot, Joliet.
Wednesday, Nov. 16: Riverview Farmstead and Vermont Cemetery, Naperville. Meet at Kropp Prairie on Book Road, north of 119th Street, Naperville.

Volunteer Workdays
RSVP to volunteer coordinator Renee Gauchat at 815.722.7364 or rgauchat@fpdwc.org. Unless otherwise noted, volunteer workdays will be held from 8 a.m. to noon. Workdays are scheduled for:
Saturday, Sept. 3: Hammel Woods Route 59 Access, Shorewood.
Saturday, Sept. 17: Sharefest Community Workday, Hickory Creek Preserve Hickory Creek Junction, Mokena.
Sunday, Sept. 18: Lockport Prairie Nature Preserve, Lockport.
Saturday, Sept. 24: National Public Lands Day. Brush control 8 a.m. to noon, seed collection 10 a.m. to noon, Isle a la Cache, Romeoville.
Saturday, Oct. 1: Thorn Creek Woods Nature Preserve, Old Park Forest Gardens, Park Forest.
Sunday, Oct. 2: Hickory Creek Preserve LaPorte Road Access, Mokena.
Thursday, Oct. 6: Lewis University, Romeoville.
Saturday, Oct. 8: Theodore Marsh, Crest Hill.
Sunday, Oct. 9: Alessio Prairie, Crest Hill.
Saturday, Oct. 22: Joliet Junior College, Joliet.
Saturday, Nov. 5: Whalon Lake, Naperville.
Sunday, Nov. 13: Seed collection from 10 a.m. to noon, Sugar Creek Administration Center, Joliet.
Saturday, Nov. 26: Hickory Creek Barrens Nature Preserve Brightway Lane, New Lenox.
Sunday, Nov. 27: Keepataw Preserve, Lemont.
Saturday, Dec. 10: Goodenow Grove Nature Preserve, Beecher.
Sunday, Dec. 11: Messenger Woods Nature Preserve, Homer Glen.
Saturday, Dec. 17: Romeoville Prairie Nature Preserve. Meet at Isle a la Cache Museum, Romeoville.

Workdays are open to individuals of all ages. Dress appropriately for the weather. Wear long pants, closed-toe shoes, a hat and sunglasses. Bring a water bottle, sunscreen, insect repellent and work gloves.

More information about volunteer opportunities is available on the District's volunteer page.

Photo by Barb Ferry
  View All News and Event Announcements
Copyright © 2016 The Forest Preserve District of Will County
17540 W. Laraway Road, Joliet, IL 60433
815.727.8700 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Weekdays
Follow Us:  
Universal Accessibility Symbol
Obtain Accessible Information or Services Here, or Call 815.727.8700 (A TDD Relay Service is Available at 800.526.0844)
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Web Site Map |